HJ - Brokaw FFA Banquet 2019

Brokaw FFA members receiving awards at the annual Brokaw FFA Parent-Member Banquet were, front row, left to right: Kristen Smith ($1,000 plus Fruit Sales Award), Aubrey Herzberg (Star Greenhand Award), Hailee Knight ($1,000 plus Fruit Sales Award and Star Greenhand Award), Tattum Hughes ($1,000 plus Fruit Sales Award), and Ms. Nicole Craig (Honorary Member Award). Second row, left to right: Ethan Herzberg (Star Placement Award), Caleb Nordyke (Neil Johnston Scholarship), Cooper Williams ($1,000 plus Fruit Sales Award and Star Placement Award), Lane Mellencamp ($1,000 plus Fruit Sales Award), Bradlie Wilmes (Star Entrepreneurship Award), Taylor Wedemeyer (Neil Johnston Scholarship and DeKalb Ag Accomplishment Award), Carter Larson (Top Fruit Salesperson Award), and Brett Robberts (Star Farmer Award).

The Brokaw FFA Chapter of Clarinda held its annual Parent/Member Banquet on Thursday, March 14. 

Many FFA members and community members received awards and recognition for the outstanding work that they have put into the local FFA chapter this past year. 

Taylor Wedemeyer, Brett Robberts, and Caleb Nordyke were the recipients of the Neil Johnston Scholarship, which is an award of $250 to the deserving senior member or members going into post-secondary studies in an agricultural major. 

Taylor Wedemeyer received the DeKalb Agricultural Accomplishment Award, awarded to the senior member who has shown high scholastic qualities and has been an active four-year member in his or her FFA chapter. 

Aubrey Herzberg and Hailee Knight were awarded the Star Greenhand Award, which is awarded to a deserving first-year member or members and is based on level of activity during his or her first year as well as their SAE projects that are in place. 

Brett Robberts received the Star Chapter Farmer Award, given to the FFA member or members who have a strong production supervised agricultural experience program in place, and Bradlie Wilmes received the Star Entrepreneurship SAE Award for her strong SAE program in the beef area. 

Ethan Herzberg and Cooper Williams received the Star Ag Placement Award, given to the FFA member or members with a strong placement SAE in place. 

The Top Fruit Salesperson Award was awarded to Carter Larson.  Plaques for $1,000 plus Fruit Sales were awarded to Lane Mellencamp, Tattum Hughes, Cooper Williams, Tanley Bebout, Kristen Smith, and Hailee Knight. 

Retiring officer plaques were presented to the 2018-2019 officer team, with the following members receiving plaques: Taylor Wedemeyer, Darah Gray, Bryn Morgenstern, Bradlie Wilmes, Brett Robberts, and Ethan Herzberg.  Ms. Nicole Craig, current student teacher in the Agriculture Education department at Clarinda High School, received the Honorary Chapter FFA Degree for her work with our FFA chapter.

In other awards, contest and participation certificates and pins were handed out to all FFA contest participants during the school year. 

Leadership pins were awarded to deserving members from each grade level, with Jason Wright, Kari Van Nostrand, Alex Baker, and Bryn Morgenstern receiving pins. 

Scholarship pins were awarded to members from each grade level with the highest cumulative GPA, with Colbie Wilmes, Anna DeGroot, Bradlie Wilmes, and Taylor Wedemeyer receiving pins. 

Darah Gray, Brett Robberts, Taylor Wedemeyer, and Bryn Morgenstern also received the state FFA Academic Achievement Award. Greenhand Degree pins and Chapter Degree pins were awarded to the first-year and second-year members who have successfully completed the requirements for these two degrees as well.

Appreciation certificates were awarded to community members who have helped the FFA chapter in different ways throughout the school year.  Those in attendance receiving certificates of appreciation were: Brent Means (Carlson Seed and Page County Cattlemen), Dave Price (Page County Cattlemen), Lori Christiansen (Circle C Signs), Lane Mellencamp (Ag Choice), Mike Wilmes, Deron and Kathy Stender, Dan and Rita DeGroot, Kasey Herzberg, and Rosanne Cavin.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.