HJ - Fall Grant Awards 2019

Representatives receiving fall 2019 grant awards include: front row, Ron Eichhorst, Porter’s Lake Lutheran Founders, Inc.; Carrie Falk, Shenandoah Public Library Foundation; Andrew Hoppmann, Lied Public Library - Clarinda; Jeannine Liljedahl, Community Food Pantry - Shenandoah; Ardith Dixon and Barbara McCollum, Coin Public Library; Carol Nielsen, Clarinda First United Methodist Church Sew and Share Food Pantry; back row, Robert Henke, Porter’s Lake Lutheran Founders, Inc.; Page County Community Foundation Board members Scott Brown, Scott Sump, Mandy Fielder (Chair), and Brian Steinkuehler. (Clarinda Herald-Journal photo)

The Page County Community Foundation, working in partnership with the Clarinda Foundation and the Greater Shenandoah Foundation, is pleased to announce that applications are now being accepted from organizations providing charitable services in Page County.

As part of this spring grant cycle, approximately $115,000 is available to support Page County nonprofit organizations and community projects. The deadline to apply for funds through the online application process is February 1.

Beginning December 15, application details, a fact sheet, and a link to the application form can be found online by selecting Page County under County Listing at www.swiowafoundations.org. Applications will only be accepted through the online system.

Made possible through the State of Iowa County Endowment Fund Program, this cycle of grants is funded by a percentage of the state’s commercial gaming tax revenue, which is distributed annually to participating community foundations associated with counties without a state-issued gaming license. Only organizations providing services in Page County are eligible to apply. They must be able to demonstrate broad community/county support and be an IRS-approved 501(c)(3) Public Charity, a local municipality, or a fiscally sponsored project. Requests for general operating support will not be considered.

The Page County Community Foundation aims to improve the quality of life in Page County by supporting community needs in the areas of civic engagement, culture, health, education, and social services. The objective of the grant program is to fund projects that will have a permanent impact on, and in, Page County.

Please contact Stacey Goodman (stacey@omahafoundation.org) or Tess Houser (tess@omahafoundation.org) at 800-794-3458 with application-related questions. All completed grant applications will be considered at the March board meeting, with applicants being notified of funding decisions by the end of March.

Board members of the Page County Community Foundation are Chair, Mandy Fielder of Shenandoah; Vice Chair, Dennis Grebert of Shenandoah; Secretary/Treasurer, Laura Swanson of Clarinda; Scott Brown of Clarinda, Scott Sump of Clarinda; and Brian Steinkuehler of Shenandoah.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.