HJ - CHS FB Banquet 2019

The Clarinda Football Banquet was held Tuesday, Nov. 12, at Clarinda High School. During the event the four team captains were honored and five team awards were presented. Those honored were, front row: Connor Brown, team captain; Parker Rock, team captain; Crew Howard, team captain and Lineman of the Year; Nathan Lindsay, team captain; back row: Michael Shull, Offensive Most Valuable Player; Nathan Barnes, Special Teams Most Valuable Player; Teagan Fichter, Scout Team Player of the Year; and Cole Ridnour, Defensive Most Valuable Player. (Herald-Journal photos by Kent Dinnebier)

Despite the cold conditions, a large crowd was on hand at Clarinda High School Tuesday, Nov. 12, for the annual Clarinda Football Banquet.

Clarinda head coach Collin Bevins thanked parents, coaches and the community for its support of the team during the 2019 season. However, he said his goal for the future is to see the Cardinals still playing football on cold nights like that rather than be holding their end of season banquet.

“If we work in the offseason and move forward as a group, we can make that possible,” Bevins said.

In his first year at the helm of the Cardinals, Bevins and his coaching staff directed Clarinda to an overall record of 5-4. That marked the first winning season for Clarinda since 2014 when the Cardinals went 9-2 and advanced to the second round of the state football playoffs.

After starting the season 4-0 in non-district play, Clarinda went 1-4 in Class 1A District 8 action. Of those four losses, three came at the hands of playoff qualifiers Van Meter, Panorama and Mount Ayr. The fourth loss came against AC/GC, who just missed qualifying for the playoffs.

Bevins said much of the credit for the turnaround was due to the dedication shown by the 15 seniors on the team. Those seniors were Alex Baker, Connor Brown, Dalton Brown, Jakob Childs, Ethan Herzberg, Ethan Jones, Nathan Lindsay, Jared McGregor, Dagen Price, Jacob Potter, Austin Roberts, Parker Rock, Kory Rogers, Preston Runyon and Isaiah Spire.

“It was a lucky deal to have this senior class my first year. They were more ‘lead by example’ kind of guys. A lot of them were like that in this group,” Bevins said.

During the banquet, 15 players were recognized as Academic All-District selections for Clarinda. To qualify for this honor, a player had to post a grade point average of 3.50 or higher.

Receiving the Academic All-District honors for Clarinda were Alex Baker, Connor Brown, Drew Brown, Kale Downey, Eli Drennen, Logan Green, Herzberg, Crew Howard, Grant Jobe, Lindsay, Mason McClarnon, Roger Peters, Lance Regehr, Rock and Rogers.

Clarinda also had 11 players earn All-District honors for their play on the field this season. However, those selections cannot be released since district member Van Meter is still alive in the playoffs.

The four team captains for the 2019 season were also recognized during the event. Those captains were Connor Brown, Howard, Lindsay and Rock.

Receiving team awards during the banquet were Michael Shull, Offensive Most Valuable Player; Cole Ridnour, Defensive Most Valuable Player; Nathan Barnes, Special Teams Most Valuable Player; Howard, Lineman of the Year; and Teagan Fichter, Scout Team Player of the year.

Following the awards, Bevins encouraged the players to get involved in other sports during the year.

“I want to see Clarinda get back to where we’re great at everything. I want us to be back at the top of the Hawkeye 10,” Bevins said.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.